diamadiss
Junior Member
Offline
Posts: 69
Thank You
-Given: 202
-Receive: 4
|
|
« on: February 16, 2013, 12:43:27 12:43 » |
|
Hello, I am using for first time one wire protocol. I searched on the internet and I found some functions but I can't manage them. I found a code for PIC in assembly for one wire communication at the below link and I converted to C language but doesn't work. Also, I saw on DS18B20 datasheet at "function command set" and I change the values of command that I send but it stills doesn't work. I want to use DS18B20 with parasite power on C18 compiler with PIC18F2550. Could anyone help me to solve this. One wire communication application note : http://www.maximintegrated.com/app-notes/index.mvp/id/2420
|
|
« Last Edit: February 17, 2013, 10:57:07 10:57 by diamadiss »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 4666
Thank You
-Given: 833
-Receive: 4319
There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi
|
|
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2013, 01:00:27 13:00 » |
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Note: I stoped Muteing bad members OK I now put thier account in sleep mode
|
|
|
xpress_embedo
Active Member
Offline
Posts: 173
Thank You
-Given: 122
-Receive: 254
|
|
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2013, 02:32:09 14:32 » |
|
I had made a project based on One-Wire Protocol. I used DS1822 and PIC16F877A Micro-Controller
Hi-Tech C Compiler v9.83
Please find the attached the link to download the project with proteus simulation file.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
jamesbond
Newbie
Offline
Posts: 23
Thank You
-Given: 50
-Receive: 9
|
|
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2013, 09:35:10 09:35 » |
|
I use these functions for all my one wire applications. May be you can use it.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
diamadiss
Junior Member
Offline
Posts: 69
Thank You
-Given: 202
-Receive: 4
|
|
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2013, 09:42:26 09:42 » |
|
Hello, Thanks for replies. I would to create my own function so I can to understand one wire communication with parasite power. Please, could anyone guide my to fix it? Thanks.
|
|
« Last Edit: February 17, 2013, 10:56:46 10:56 by diamadiss »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
flo0319
Junior Member
Offline
Posts: 81
Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 17
|
|
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2013, 11:28:38 11:28 » |
|
1-wire protocol is based on time slots, so you need to make samples for bits when you are sure that the line is stabilized, and also you need to implement an external filter to eliminate parasites from the line. in general you need to put a delay between normal time (1us or 5us) and the moment when you read value form pin
Be careful with the pull-up resistor from line, at a dsPIC just with internal pull-up enabled worked
|
|
« Last Edit: February 17, 2013, 11:37:51 11:37 by flo0319 »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
diamadiss
Junior Member
Offline
Posts: 69
Thank You
-Given: 202
-Receive: 4
|
|
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2013, 08:59:13 20:59 » |
|
I made some changes according to operation example from DS18B20 datasheet. But now always it shows on display the value "-1". Please could anyone see the attached picture which shows the "operation example" from datasheet because I think that I must sent wrong data. Also, I have attached my code so to see it. Datasheet DS28B20 : http://datasheets.maximin....com/en/ds/DS18B20.pdf 1-Wire® Communication with a Microchip PICmicro Microcontroller : http://www.maximintegrate...otes/index.mvp/id/2420
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
flo0319
Junior Member
Offline
Posts: 81
Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 17
|
|
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2013, 12:52:50 12:52 » |
|
Hi again, you need to make some changes in your code : look at my code first: void prvWireInit(void) { CNPU1=64; // for pull-up resistors WireDir=1; WirePin=1; }; void prvWireReset(void) { WireDir=0; WirePin=0; delayus(550); // more then 500 WirePin=1; WireDir=1; delayus(70); };
int prvWirePresence(void) { int i; int Bit=0; WireDir=1; for(i=480;i>0;i--) { delayus(1); if (WirePin==0) Bit=1; }; return Bit; };
void prvWireSendBit(unsigned portCHAR Bit) { WireDir=0; WirePin=0; delayus(2); WirePin=Bit; delayus(TSlot); // 60us WireDir=1; delayus(2); };
portCHAR prvWireGetBit(void) { portCHAR Bit; WireDir=0; WirePin=0; delayus(2); WireDir=1; delayus(20); Bit=WirePin; delayus(100); return Bit; };
void prvWireWriteByte(unsigned portCHAR Byte) { int i; for (i=0;i<8;i++) { prvWireSendBit( Byte&0x01); Byte=Byte>>1; }; };
char prvWireReadByte(void) { int i; char Byte; Byte=0; for(i=0;i<8;i++) Byte=Byte|((1&prvWireGetBit())<<i); return Byte; };
it's better in this case to use PORT register and not LAT register for read and write to pin. you need to insert more delays in your code, and very important is how receive the presence impulse from sensor. also look at how is initiate a communication between mcu and sensor (is not for parasite power but is similar) //reinitializare si startare citire temp prvWireReset(); prvWirePresence(); prvWireWriteByte(0xCC); prvWireWriteByte(0x44);
vTaskDelay(300); // 300ms delay (but this can be a short time >10ms )
//comanda citire temperatura prvWireReset(); prvWirePresence(); delayus(70); prvWireWriteByte(0xCC); prvWireWriteByte(0xBE);
WireDir=0; WirePin=0;
test1=prvWireReadByte(); delayus(70); test2=prvWireReadByte(); vTemp=(unsigned int)(test2<<8)+ (unsigned int) test1; prvWireReset(); prvWirePresence();
after reset you need to wait 480us for presence impulse response you have on display -1 because your data is 0xFF (from pull-up) and "%d" is for signed decimal , for unsigned you need to use %u .
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
diamadiss
Junior Member
Offline
Posts: 69
Thank You
-Given: 202
-Receive: 4
|
|
« Reply #8 on: February 18, 2013, 01:17:04 13:17 » |
|
Hello, I am trying to make compile in your code but compile failed (syntax error). I have attach a txt with your code with my code. Thanks a lot for your help.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
flo0319
Junior Member
Offline
Posts: 81
Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 17
|
|
« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2013, 01:50:18 13:50 » |
|
It's normal to have this problem :
add to your code this:
#define delayus(x) _delay((unsigned long)((x)*(_XTAL_FREQ/4000000.0))) #define delayms(x) _delay((unsigned long)((x)*(_XTAL_FREQ/4000.0)))
#define WirePin PORTAbits.PORTA0 // or _PA0 #define WireDir TRISAbits.TRISA0 // "DQ_TRIS = 0;" This must included in the main program and change:
delayus(TSlot); // 60us with delayus(60);
vTaskDelay(300); // 300ms delay (but this can be a short time >10ms ) with delayms(300); // 300ms delay (but this can be a short time >10ms )
delete from prvWireInit(void) CNPU1 = 64;
and declare test1,test2 as unsigned char and vTemp as integer
if other errors occur , you can manage it by yourself
until to go in while(1), call prvWireInit() to initiate the port pin
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
ehnonymouse
Newbie
Offline
Posts: 28
Thank You
-Given: 15
-Receive: 13
|
|
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2013, 03:15:12 15:15 » |
|
I don't know whether this will help, but this is some sample code I modified to read the serial number from a DS2411. It's for the MPLAB C30 compiler and a PIC24. Tested, and working in the application.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
diamadiss
Junior Member
Offline
Posts: 69
Thank You
-Given: 202
-Receive: 4
|
|
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2013, 06:33:34 18:33 » |
|
I magage to make compile with flo0319 code but doesn't work. Always it shows on display the value 255. Also, I replace "portCHAR" with "char" so to make a successful compile. I see on datasheet of "DS18B20 operation example 2" which is for parasite power that we don't send all the commands. Is this possible to be the cause of the problem? In txt file I have attached the code which it does succesful compile. Thanks.
|
|
« Last Edit: February 19, 2013, 08:52:49 20:52 by diamadiss »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
LithiumOverdosE
Senior Member
Offline
Posts: 361
Thank You
-Given: 383
-Receive: 587
|
|
« Reply #12 on: February 19, 2013, 06:42:30 18:42 » |
|
Check out Dallas 1-Wire application notes. They enclosed C code that can be easily ported to PIC compilers with modification of bit read/write procedures.
Also check out AVR318 App Note.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
flo0319
Junior Member
Offline
Posts: 81
Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 17
|
|
« Reply #13 on: February 19, 2013, 07:22:08 19:22 » |
|
diamadiss, tell me how you have connected your ds18b20 to uC and try to communicate with it in normal power mode after you can view that your sensor work(with external power) you can change and can try to communicate with it in parasite mode if you can make a picture with your schematic and hardware we can view if is something wrong there
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
diamadiss
Junior Member
Offline
Posts: 69
Thank You
-Given: 202
-Receive: 4
|
|
« Reply #14 on: February 19, 2013, 07:28:43 19:28 » |
|
I use it without parasite power for now but it doesn't work. In picture you can see my schematic.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
flo0319
Junior Member
Offline
Posts: 81
Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 17
|
|
« Reply #15 on: February 19, 2013, 08:30:40 20:30 » |
|
your problem is form pin configuration
Note: On a Power-on Reset, RA5 and RA3:RA0 are configured as analog inputs and read as ‘0’. RA4 is configured as a digital input.
you need to configure RA0 as digital pin (after reset this pin si analog)
ADCON1 = 0x0F ; // to do all pins digital this instruction you need to add on initiation (in main() )
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
diamadiss
Junior Member
Offline
Posts: 69
Thank You
-Given: 202
-Receive: 4
|
|
« Reply #16 on: February 19, 2013, 08:52:27 20:52 » |
|
I have already add these "commands" on my code but didn't work.
ADCON0 = 0x00; ADCON1 = 0x0F; CMCON = 0x07; //Disable Comporators
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
flo0319
Junior Member
Offline
Posts: 81
Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 17
|
|
« Reply #17 on: February 19, 2013, 09:30:34 21:30 » |
|
I think that your sensor is the problem, try to change with another one
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
diamadiss
Junior Member
Offline
Posts: 69
Thank You
-Given: 202
-Receive: 4
|
|
« Reply #18 on: February 19, 2013, 09:42:23 21:42 » |
|
I replace the sensor with new but it stills show 255.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 2420
Thank You
-Given: 862
-Receive: 678
Top Topic Starter
|
|
« Reply #19 on: February 19, 2013, 10:26:54 22:26 » |
|
Your sensor has P at the end? Like in DS18B20P?
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
diamadiss
Junior Member
Offline
Posts: 69
Thank You
-Given: 202
-Receive: 4
|
|
« Reply #20 on: February 19, 2013, 10:29:10 22:29 » |
|
Yes, the code is "DS18B20 + PAR"
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 2420
Thank You
-Given: 862
-Receive: 678
Top Topic Starter
|
|
« Reply #21 on: February 19, 2013, 10:35:10 22:35 » |
|
The reason for your reading is that after you issue the read command, you are not pulling the pin connected to DS18B20P high, it really needs a strong pull and can be done by setting the pin itself high and as an output, which means you are not providing supply for the DS18B20P. Look at this: void therm_read_temperature(int16_t *temperature){ //Reset, skip ROM and start temperature conversion therm_reset(); therm_write_byte(THERM_CMD_SKIPROM); cli(); therm_write_byte(THERM_CMD_CONVERTTEMP); //Wait until conversion is complete #ifdef ONEWIRE_USE_PARASITIC_POWER THERM_HIGH(); THERM_OUTPUT_MODE(); sei(); //THERM_INPUT_MODE(); _delay_ms(751); //THERM_INPUT_MODE(); #else THERM_INPUT_MODE(); sei(); while(!therm_read_bit()); #endif //Reset, skip ROM and send command to read Scratchpad therm_reset(); therm_write_byte(THERM_CMD_SKIPROM); therm_write_byte(THERM_CMD_RSCRATCHPAD); //Read Scratchpad (only 2 first bytes) *temperature = therm_read_byte(); *temperature |= therm_read_byte() << 8; therm_reset(); } After issuing "therm_write_byte(THERM_CMD_CONVERTTEMP);", you have to ensure that you controller has done its homework: // Write 1 to pin connected to DS18B20P THERM_HIGH(); // Pin is output THERM_OUTPUT_MODE(); Also ensure that interrupts are disables before you execute the above two operations. Look at your code, and seek where you should do this modification.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
diamadiss
Junior Member
Offline
Posts: 69
Thank You
-Given: 202
-Receive: 4
|
|
« Reply #22 on: February 20, 2013, 07:25:06 19:25 » |
|
I make high for 100us the pin which connected DS18B20 and I disable all interupts "INTCONbits.GIE = 0; // Disable global interrupts" but it stills show the value "255". I have attached my code so to see where I make the DS18B20 pin high. Also, I tried to work with xtal 4MHz instead 20MHz but nothing. Thanks.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 2420
Thank You
-Given: 862
-Receive: 678
Top Topic Starter
|
|
« Reply #23 on: February 20, 2013, 10:14:57 22:14 » |
|
it should be high for 750ms, not 100us, look at my code: _delay_ms(751);
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
flo0319
Junior Member
Offline
Posts: 81
Thank You
-Given: 7
-Receive: 17
|
|
« Reply #24 on: February 21, 2013, 07:50:17 07:50 » |
|
diamadiss, have you an oscilloscope or something to view exactly what is happened on this line?
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|