graywolf
Newbie
Offline
Posts: 13
Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 19
|
|
« Reply #175 on: May 08, 2020, 03:36:55 03:36 » |
|
I have completed a linux version and fully tested, same link to download Mac and Linux, when I have time I will do it for Windows as well. if you run [xclm -v] you should see "Linux xclm XC8 XC16 XC32 patch V1.00.00 by Graywolf" I have completed a version for OSX Catalina and tested against the latest versions. XC8 = V2.20 Success XC16 = V1.50 Success XC32 = V2.40 Success 1) copy orginal xclm to xclm.old 2) copy new xclm 3) run the following command [chmod +x xclm] 4) You can scan first by running [xclm -scan] 5) You can patch by running the next command [xclm -patch] if you run [xclm -v] you should see "OSX Catalina xclm XC8 XC16 XC32 patch V1.00.00 by Graywolf" Enjoy
|
|
« Last Edit: May 08, 2020, 03:40:46 03:40 by graywolf »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
krayzeeman
Inactive
Muted
Offline
Posts: 5
Thank You
-Given: 14
-Receive: 5
|
|
« Reply #176 on: May 08, 2020, 08:48:39 08:48 » |
|
Hi, thanks for the patch, but it doesn't seem to work for me. I downloaded and installed a fresh copy of the XC8 v2.20 compiler and checked the status: # ./xc8 --chip=16f1516 --opt=s /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/pic/bin/picc --chip=16f1516 --opt=s Microchip MPLAB XC8 C Compiler V2.20 Build date: Apr 8 2020 Part Support Version: 2.20 Copyright (C) 2020 Microchip Technology Inc. License type: Node Configuration
the current license does not permit the selected optimization level, using optimization level 2 (939) no file arguments (908) exit status = 1 Which shows the correct error that the optimization level is not supported. Then I ran the scan and the patch: # chmod +x xclm # ./xclm -scan Discovered /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../avr/avr/bin/avr-pa Discovered /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../avr/bin/avr-cpp Discovered /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../avr/bin/avr-gcc Discovered /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../avr/bin/avr-gcc-5.4.0 Discovered /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../avr/bin/avr-c++ Discovered /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../avr/bin/avr-g++ Discovered /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../avr/libexec/gcc/avr/5.4.0/lto1 Discovered /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../avr/libexec/gcc/avr/5.4.0/cc1plus Discovered /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../avr/libexec/gcc/avr/5.4.0/cc1 Discovered /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../pic/bin/picc18 Discovered /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../pic/bin/aspic Discovered /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../pic/bin/cgpic18 Discovered /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../pic/bin/aspic18 Discovered /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../pic/bin/cgpic Discovered /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../pic/bin/picc Total Files scanned 15360 Total Files ready to patch 15
# ./xclm -patch Patching 64 bytes /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../avr/avr/bin/avr-pa Patching 64 bytes /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../avr/bin/avr-cpp Patching 64 bytes /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../avr/bin/avr-gcc Patching 64 bytes /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../avr/bin/avr-gcc-5.4.0 Patching 64 bytes /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../avr/bin/avr-c++ Patching 64 bytes /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../avr/bin/avr-g++ Patching 64 bytes /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../avr/libexec/gcc/avr/5.4.0/lto1 Patching 64 bytes /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../avr/libexec/gcc/avr/5.4.0/cc1plus Patching 64 bytes /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../avr/libexec/gcc/avr/5.4.0/cc1 Patching 64 bytes /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../pic/bin/picc18 Patching 64 bytes /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../pic/bin/aspic Patching 64 bytes /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../pic/bin/cgpic18 Patching 64 bytes /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../pic/bin/aspic18 Patching 64 bytes /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../pic/bin/cgpic Patching 64 bytes /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/bin/../pic/bin/picc Total Files scanned 15360 Total Files patched 15
And then I ran the check again to see if the patch was successful: # ./xc8 --chip=16f1516 --opt=s /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/pic/bin/picc --chip=16f1516 --opt=s /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/pic/bin/picc: signal 9 (900) exec failed: /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/pic/bin/picc
# ./xclm -v OSX Catalina xclm XC8 XC16 XC32 patch V1.00.00 by Graywolf
I’m running macOS 10.15.4 Catalina with the latest updates. Any ideas?
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
tumbleweed
Newbie
Offline
Posts: 34
Thank You
-Given: 58
-Receive: 41
|
|
« Reply #177 on: May 09, 2020, 01:56:09 13:56 » |
|
@graywolf - When you get a chance it'd be nice to try out a win version.
tia
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 4666
Thank You
-Given: 833
-Receive: 4320
There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi
|
|
« Reply #178 on: May 09, 2020, 02:49:43 14:49 » |
|
@graywolf - When you get a chance it'd be nice to try out a win version.
tia
Why when the solution is a few pages back? lazy looker or if that's too hard try the demo...
|
|
|
Logged
|
Note: I stoped Muteing bad members OK I now put thier account in sleep mode
|
|
|
tumbleweed
Newbie
Offline
Posts: 34
Thank You
-Given: 58
-Receive: 41
|
|
« Reply #179 on: May 09, 2020, 10:56:50 22:56 » |
|
lazy looker Not at all. I've used the original version for quite a while with no problems. I like the scan feature he has in his version.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
heyb4r
Inactive
Offline
Posts: 1
Thank You
-Given: 5
-Receive: 1
|
|
« Reply #180 on: June 10, 2020, 08:49:14 08:49 » |
|
@graywolf - hello, i was able to patch xc16 - v1.50 but the patched version seems not working. It tries to find a linker script file named --script=p24FJ1024GB610.gld.00 instead of --script=p24FJ1024GB610.gld The "normal" version does not have this problem. I'm on Catalina up to date. Have I missed something ?? Ps: I've also tested the Linux version of your tool which crashes on Ubuntu 20.04 (core dump)
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
engiadina
Inactive
Offline
Posts: 5
Thank You
-Given: 1
-Receive: 4
|
|
« Reply #181 on: June 21, 2020, 04:52:09 16:52 » |
|
@graywolf
Same problem here:
(900) exec failed: /Applications/microchip/xc8/v2.20/pic/bin/picc
Seems, the patch might need some minor touchup :-)
Many regards
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
MetaMetal
Junior Member
Offline
Posts: 46
Thank You
-Given: 66
-Receive: 242
|
|
« Reply #182 on: July 30, 2020, 05:08:29 17:08 » |
|
XC8 2.20 Windows:
Copy xclm.exe from C:\Program Files\Microchip\xc8\v2.20\bin to C:\Program Files\Microchip\xc8\v2.20\pic\bin as xclm.old. Copy the patcher (xclm.exe) to C:\Program Files\Microchip\xc8\v2.20\pic\bin. Run xclm.exe. Copy xclm.exe and xclm.old to C:\Program Files\Microchip\xc8\v2.20\bin.
Try it!
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
max
Senior Member
Offline
Posts: 321
Thank You
-Given: 1659
-Receive: 52
|
|
« Reply #183 on: August 01, 2020, 08:43:22 08:43 » |
|
Hi,
Is there any simple IDE for using with XC8 compiler, I am looking for mplab simple alternative.
Regards
|
|
|
Logged
|
Fate arrived and made the conscious unconscious It silenced the activity of life.
|
|
|
mars01
V.I.P
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 537
Thank You
-Given: 696
-Receive: 1774
|
|
« Reply #184 on: August 01, 2020, 10:29:42 10:29 » |
|
Hi,
Is there any simple IDE for using with XC8 compiler, I am looking for mplab simple alternative.
Regards
Notepad++ https://notepad-plus-plus.org/downloads/v7.0/ ? Not really an IDE but you can have the C keywords highlighted and once you used a keyword is also included in the Completer. Or perhaps Code::Blocks http://codeblocks.org/Compiling then can be done in command line (you can make some scripts for that).
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 4666
Thank You
-Given: 833
-Receive: 4320
There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi
|
|
« Reply #185 on: August 01, 2020, 01:13:40 13:13 » |
|
Also Slickedit & UltraEdit link for PDF file
|
|
« Last Edit: August 01, 2020, 01:22:50 13:22 by pickit2 »
|
Logged
|
Note: I stoped Muteing bad members OK I now put thier account in sleep mode
|
|
|
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 2420
Thank You
-Given: 862
-Receive: 678
Top Topic Starter
|
|
« Reply #186 on: August 12, 2020, 02:24:25 02:24 » |
|
Just use MPLABx, it has everything you will need to program a (ds)PIC/AVR and it is already there for this purpose.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
pickit2
Moderator
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 4666
Thank You
-Given: 833
-Receive: 4320
There is no evidence that I muted SoNsIvRi
|
|
« Reply #187 on: October 05, 2020, 07:24:07 19:24 » |
|
|
|
|
Logged
|
Note: I stoped Muteing bad members OK I now put thier account in sleep mode
|
|
|
Crackn
Active Member
Offline
Posts: 130
Thank You
-Given: 121
-Receive: 565
|
|
« Reply #188 on: January 13, 2021, 03:49:08 03:49 » |
|
hello, maybe this is a little bit offtopic but I am writing to confirm that XC8 v2.31 running inside the new Microchip Studio (old atmel studio 7), works fine with medicine. you just need to copy and run xclm.exe and xclm.old to avr folders like you do for pic folders. ex.: \xc8\v2.31\bin \xc8\v2.31\avr\avr\bin \xc8\v2.31\avr\bin \xc8\v2.31\avr\libexec\gcc\avr\5.4.0 \xc8\v2.31\pic\bin cheers.
|
|
« Last Edit: January 13, 2021, 04:13:20 04:13 by Crackn »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 2420
Thank You
-Given: 862
-Receive: 678
Top Topic Starter
|
|
« Reply #189 on: January 13, 2021, 09:14:25 09:14 » |
|
There is no need, just do the following and it should work OK:
rename original xclm.exe into xclm.old inside "C:\Program Files\Microchip\xc8\v2.31\bin". Copy cracked xclm.exe to "C:\Program Files\Microchip\xc8\v2.31\bin". Copy cracked xclm.exe and xclm.old to "C:\Program Files\Microchip\xc8\v2.31"
Open a cmd as admin in this location: "C:\Program Files\Microchip\xc8\v2.31", and run xclm.exe
that's it.
|
|
« Last Edit: January 13, 2021, 09:54:14 09:54 by metal »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
saeed7701
Active Member
Offline
Posts: 111
Thank You
-Given: 35
-Receive: 160
|
|
« Reply #190 on: January 13, 2021, 05:17:35 17:17 » |
|
Hi , I installed Microchip Studio V 7 today and for xc8 I use this patch ( xclm.exe) and the method for AVR folder in the XC8 and I patched it , How can I find that this patch work correctly ? this patch can be useful for Microchip Studio ?
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 2420
Thank You
-Given: 862
-Receive: 678
Top Topic Starter
|
|
« Reply #191 on: January 13, 2021, 05:37:27 17:37 » |
|
One thing that caught my attention, does atmel studio differ that much for AVR chips? I am interested in finding out.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
saeed7701
Active Member
Offline
Posts: 111
Thank You
-Given: 35
-Receive: 160
|
|
« Reply #192 on: January 13, 2021, 06:01:50 18:01 » |
|
I don't understand what you say , I'm newbie in coding and MCU. can you help me please
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Crackn
Active Member
Offline
Posts: 130
Thank You
-Given: 121
-Receive: 565
|
|
« Reply #193 on: January 13, 2021, 07:44:25 19:44 » |
|
Hi , I installed Microchip Studio V 7 today and for xc8 I use this patch ( xclm.exe) and the method for AVR folder in the XC8 and I patched it , How can I find that this patch work correctly ? this patch can be useful for Microchip Studio ?
just enable optimization for size (-Os) in Project / Properties / Toolchain and compile your code. Microchip Studio will show a warning message if the compiler is not patched correctly. (see capture1.png attached) Posted on: 13 January 2021, 16:23:13 - Automerged
There is no need, just do the following and it should work OK:
rename original xclm.exe into xclm.old inside "C:\Program Files\Microchip\xc8\v2.31\bin". Copy cracked xclm.exe to "C:\Program Files\Microchip\xc8\v2.31\bin". Copy cracked xclm.exe and xclm.old to "C:\Program Files\Microchip\xc8\v2.31"
Open a cmd as admin in this location: "C:\Program Files\Microchip\xc8\v2.31", and run xclm.exe
that's it.
the method above only works for PICs, if you need to use it with AVRs inside microchip studio, you need to patch AVR folders as well. image 1 is doing exactly what you described. image 2 is the same + patch AVR folders cheers,
|
|
« Last Edit: January 13, 2021, 07:49:54 19:49 by Crackn »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
saeed7701
Active Member
Offline
Posts: 111
Thank You
-Given: 35
-Receive: 160
|
|
« Reply #194 on: January 13, 2021, 07:52:21 19:52 » |
|
Yes , the Microchip Studio show that message that you attach and patch doesn't work but I patch with instructions above , could you say another way to patch and How ? Thank You Very Much
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Crackn
Active Member
Offline
Posts: 130
Thank You
-Given: 121
-Receive: 565
|
|
« Reply #195 on: January 13, 2021, 08:00:00 20:00 » |
|
Yes , the Microchip Studio show that message that you attach and patch doesn't work but I patch with instructions above , could you say another way to patch and How ? Thank You Very Much
there is no other way, just the correct way. you need to use the xclm.exe with size of 26K. rename the original xclm.exe to xclm.old and copy both xclm.old and xclm.exe to these folders: \xc8\v2.31\bin \xc8\v2.31\avr\avr\bin \xc8\v2.31\avr\bin \xc8\v2.31\avr\libexec\gcc\avr\5.4.0 \xc8\v2.31\pic\bin you need to run it at command line with administrator rights. and check if after you run the xclm.exe, it shows you some messages saying that files are patched (see attached files). obs. I did this method in 3 computers running windows 10 64bits and all worked fine. cRACKn
|
|
« Last Edit: January 13, 2021, 08:11:36 20:11 by Crackn »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
saeed7701
Active Member
Offline
Posts: 111
Thank You
-Given: 35
-Receive: 160
|
|
« Reply #196 on: January 13, 2021, 08:11:10 20:11 » |
|
yes , I use 26k size of xclm.exe and patch with instruction but I don't know why it doesn't work TNX
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
metal
Global Moderator
Hero Member
Offline
Posts: 2420
Thank You
-Given: 862
-Receive: 678
Top Topic Starter
|
|
« Reply #197 on: January 13, 2021, 10:27:07 22:27 » |
|
btw, does microchip studio show the size of flash/ram used after compilation?
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Crackn
Active Member
Offline
Posts: 130
Thank You
-Given: 121
-Receive: 565
|
|
« Reply #198 on: January 14, 2021, 02:12:19 02:12 » |
|
btw, does microchip studio show the size of flash/ram used after compilation?
see attached files. same source, first was compiled with -Os (Patched compiler) second was compiled without optimization. cheers.
|
|
« Last Edit: January 14, 2021, 02:17:05 02:17 by Crackn »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
danymogh
Newbie
Muted
Offline
Posts: 25
Thank You
-Given: 14
-Receive: 24
|
|
« Reply #199 on: February 12, 2021, 08:12:39 20:12 » |
|
the patch works as expected even on the latest version 2.31
Does anyone know if the "functional-safety" and "code-coverage" options are also activated this way? supplying "--codecov" doesn't give any errors however this feature should also be enabled in Mplab X as well.
what about the "functional safety" ? what type of message should one expect if it is activated?
I already see product codes in the original xclm binary which indicate these options are activated from xclm as well.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
|